Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier Club

Of Southern California

General Meeting

December 7, 2014

The meeting was held at the Beckham Grill, at 77 Walnut St. in Pasadena, California.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call

A quorum was present. Attending were Jon Apogee, Kathy Apogee, Kay Baird, Rose Clime, Karla Cohen, Brian DeMattia, Lesley DeMattia, Jeanine Flavell, Myrna Flavell, Vicki Gosnell, Joan Johnson, Miriam Kahan, Connie Koehler, Ann Leigh, Mary Lindquist, Mary Lou Piccard, Susan Sakauye, Cecily Skinner, Marilyn Smith, Lauren Smith, Bonney Snyder, Beverly Streicher, Conrad Virant, Laura Virant, Jackie Whitham, Marvin Whitham (all regular members): Debbie Bowen, Ben and Kathy Fawley, Erin Fawley, Linda Fussel, Sandra Lightner, and Louise Rosen, (associate members). Our guests were Gilberto Chicol, Olga Solaris, and Chuck Snyder.

Minutes of the July General Meeting

To move tonights meeting to its conclusion as quickly and efficiently as possible, Bonney Snyder asked the membership for their approval to hold the minutes, and the reports from the secretary and treasurer until the January General Meeting. The membership agreed to her recommendations.

The minutes were held until the next meeting in January.

Report of the President

Bonney wished especially to thank her board, her rescue chair Connie Koehler, and the entire Southern California rescue team, as well as those people who took on the chairmanship of key events. Bonney began by thanking Laura Virant for managing the Pet Expo, Debbie Bowen for hosting the July Pot Luck Meeting, and Beverly Streicher and Jeanine Flavell for their work on the raffle. Bonney also thanked Beverly for her hard work chairing Fun Day. Karla Cohen was recognized for presiding as our games mistress, and for being one of the quiet workers who efficiently get things done behind the scenes. Miriam Kahan was recognized for her help with so many things. Finally, Bonney thanked Ann Leigh for the huge job of both chairing Great Western and handling the merchandise. Bonney also thanked Ann for agreeing to chair Great Western 2015.

Bonney expressed her gratitude to her Board of Officers and Directors for all their support, asked them to join her at the front of the room, and thanked each individually. She first recognized Miriam Kahan as the master of the SCWTCSC’s schedule, and Ann Leigh as many things; her mentor, her best friend, and as one of the hardest working members of the club. Cecily Skinner was presented as another unsung hero, working quietly behind the scenes. Jeanine Flavell as secretary has to take the minutes at each meeting, obliged to listen and not talk, “it takes a lot of the fun out of attending meetings”. Jeanine and Jackie Whitham have the hardest jobs, but Jackie as both treasurer and membership secretary has the hardest.

Bonney then presented to Jackie Whitham the Award for Outstanding SCWTCSC Member of the Year. Jackie received a standing ovation from those present.

Bonney thanked everyone for all their help, in so many ways, which made the SCWTCSC a viable and active entity. Bonney ask the club to join her in thanking the five club members who have been very involved in rescue this year; Beverly Streicher Debbie Bowen, Laura Virant, Cecily Skinner and Connie Koehler. They went above and beyond with their time and effort with rescue, going to shelters, transporting dogs, and checking shelter lists.

Report of the Secretary

The correspondence will be held until the January meeting.

Report of the Treasurer

The Treasurer’s report will also be held until the January meeting.

Installation of the new Officers and Directors for 2013

There being only one nomination for each office, the current President proclaimed them elected by acclamation. Secretary Jeanine Flavell cast the deciding vote. The new board will be:

  • President – Bonney Snyder
  • Vice President – Ann Leigh
  • Secretary – Jeanine Flavell
  • Treasurer – Jackie Whitham
  • Member at Large – Miriam Kahan
  • Member at Large – Cecily Skinner
  • Member at Large – Laura Virant

Rescue Report

Connie Koehler gave the club members her rescue presentation. There were only three Wheatens in rescue this year, but all completed Homeric journeys before reaching their new forever homes. Connie thanked her entire team for making this possible; Debbie Bowen, Cecily Skinner, Laura Virant, Rose Clime, Ann Leigh, Kay Baird, Louise Rosen, Beverly Streicher, Susan Sakauye, and Bonney Snyder. Each member of the team received a thank you gift. The rescue family of the year are Jim and Denise ———— in Alaska.

New Business

Agility and Rally Day

This has been scheduled for February 8th, and all the Wheatens present will be able to participate using the apparatus.


Cecily Skinner presided over the Awards ceremony.

Cecily and Bonney passed out the SCWTCSC’s Awards of Achievement to those who had excelled this year in the areas of conformation, obedience, agility, rally, and therapy dog work. The SCWTCSC presented an Junior Handler Award to twelve year old Reilly Capton, in recognition of her three Group placements with Griffin.

The first Board Meeting of the year will be January 18, 2015, and the first General Meeting will be January 20, 2015 at the DuPar’s in Pasadena, California.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Jeanine Flavell
Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier Club of Southern California